Stop the Presses! I Used a Crockpot

Youguyssss…I am not a fan of the crockpot.  Why?  Because I CAN’T CONTROL IT.  But seriously, I love cooking, and that involves more than just ingredients.  It’s the process, the prep work, the timing, everything.  And, I fancy myself a really good cook.

But this post is to inform you that I, the only person I know who doesn’t own a crockpot, actually used one.

I put a beef loin in the crockpot.  Then I dumped (super appetizing word, huh?) a jar of peperoncinis in the crockpot. I turned it on, and walked away.

BUT I KEPT THINKING ABOUT IT ALL DAY LONG.  Is that supposed to happen?  Because everyone I know who “cooks” in a crockpot says they just forget about the thing as they go about their day.

I actually made THREE trips home to check on it throughout the day.  Which, I suppose was totally unnecessary  but I couldn’t help myself.  I felt like I was cheating.  Cheating on my kitchen, my food, myself.

I was definitely having a hard time with this.

I mean it smelled good and all, but it always smells good in my house because I am always cooking.

Was I missing something about this so-called glorious cooking device?

The beef came out great–very tender, and a little spicy–and it made for some great sandwiches.  A little mustard, some onion, but I have to wonder, can I really say I cooked it?

It’ll be a while before I use that sucker again, methinks.

Leave a Reply

