Garbanzo Bean Salad (V)

Happy NEW Year, people.  My resolution this year is to actually WRITE down what I cook.  Since I cook everyday, this is a slightly daunting task for me–I don’t follow recipes, so on the flip side, I never write anything down.

But here goes.

Today was a pretty productive cooking day.  I made the salad in the title, some kale chips, and baked some bread (both of those posts to come).

My focus this year is to clean up my diet even more–I am eliminating all animal products except eggs for the time being.  I would really like to continue this for the year.  I have been doing a lot of reading on supplements, etc., so I will be getting enough vitamins and nutrients from the foods I will be eating.

Actually, what I am figuring out right now is that I might be able to push myself to be an even more creative cook, because cooking with more grains and alternatives might lend themselves to ideas from ideas from ideas…make sense?

Cooking meat is always so straightforward.  I mean, you have many methods available, but the bottom line is, it has to be cooked to a certain temperature, and it can’t really be used as multitudinously as grains or vegetables (my opinion, but maybe I am right).

Thus begins my ovo-vegetarian journey.

By the way, if there is a (V) by a recipe title, that means Vegan, and (OV) will be Ovo-vegetarian.

And now, the salad!

Garbanzo Bean Salad

2 cups garbanzo beans (I buy dried, soak, and cook them)

1/4 large red onion, finely diced

1/2 cucumber, finely diced

handful cilantro, finely diced

teaspoon cumin

teaspoon black pepper

teaspoon dill weed

salt to taste

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4-1/3 cup apple cider vinegar (to taste, as well.  I like a lot of vinegar)

Optional topping: avocado slices

Honestly, there is nothing to this.  I just love garbanzo beans (chick peas to some of you:)).

Just throw it all in a bowl and let sit for a while to let the flavors marry.

Clearly, I need to go buy more cumin.

Clearly, I need to go buy more cumin.

photo (6)

Ready to combine

photo (7)

And, done.

Enjoy this.  It’s pretty good, if I do say so myself.

One thought on “Garbanzo Bean Salad (V)

Leave a Reply

