Crockpot (GASP!) Sesame Ginger Chicken (MEAT, yo!)

Oh hey, so I am still not eating any meat, but I have a hungry roommate who will appreciate this one.  Hopefully.  She seems to enjoy what I cook…I’m going on my gut here.  Anyway, I had some chicken in the freezer, and I really wanted to not have to think too hard about what to do with it, so I thought, ‘a crockpot provides for thought-free cooking,’ and here we are.

My feelings about crockpots are not super positive.  Part of me can see how if you have a million+ things to do, and don’t have hours to be in the kitchen, it can be useful.

However, I have the time, and I never remember seeing a crockpot in our house, or my grandmother’s–definitely not!  I learned how to cook everything on a stove or in the oven, not using shortcuts, etc.  And, thankfully, I happen to love the process of cooking, and have the time right now.

So, this brings me to why I am using a crockpot today.  I do have laundry to do…I will probably go work out later…but mostly, and I am going to be totally honest with you right now, Netflix just added every season of The West Wing, and hello, what an amazing show!

I know.  Awful.

The other part of me doesn’t really want to be dealing with meat right now because I am trying to discipline myself to clean up my diet, and the crockpot allows me to basically not touch the chicken at all.

But, y’all, it’s gonna be good!

So, here’s my crockpot Sesame Ginger Chicken recipe–appearing on my almost-Vegan blog:)

Sesame Ginger Crockpot Chicken

a bunch of chicken breasts (come on, you didn’t think I was going to get all specific, did you?)

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped

In a bowl:

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground mustard

1 teaspoon white pepper (or regular pepper–whatevs, I know not everyone has white pepper)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup rice vinegar

2 tbsp vegetable or olive oil

1 tbsp sesame seeds

dash of soy sauce

dash of sweet and sour sauce, or whatever Asian-type sauces you’ve got

a whole mess of chopped garlic

tiny dash of cinnamon

red pepper (it always makes it in!)

photo (22)

I could drink this. Seriously.

photo (23)

Ready to go in!

photo (21)

Ground ginger–good for you!! (That’s my “mess” of garlic in the bottom of the bowl there.

Stir all these together and dump the onion and spice mixture in over the chicken, and add one cup of water or your favorite broth.  Yeah, this is totally unnecessary

photo (24)

Altogether in the crockpot!

Cook on low for 3-4 hours

You can serve this in lettuce for a low-carb wrap, over brown rice, on pita, whatever you fancy.  Chop up some  green onion to sprinkle over the top.  Check back for an update.  I just put in on, so I only have a few pictures.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Crockpot (GASP!) Sesame Ginger Chicken (MEAT, yo!)

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Madness! (V) And Bread! (V) | CookWrite

Leave a Reply

